About Us

About Ragged Edge Community Network Society


Community Futures Mount Waddington (CFMW) has been working since 2002 to assist in delivering high-speed Internet access to North Island communities. An invitation from the subscribing communities encouraged CFMW to develop a comprehensive business plan and delivery strategy and seek funding.

In the spring of 2005, the BC government, in partnership with Network BC and Telus, offered a grant to assist with the implementation of High Speed Internet connectivity to all of BC’s rural and remote communities.

CFMW sought further funding from the Coast Sustainability Trust Fund, Western Economic Diversification and Island Coastal Economic Trust, to begin the process of providing access to High Speed Internet service to the North Island’s remote communities. Ragged Edge Community Network (RECN) was formed.

Since inception, we now provide HIGH SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET service to rural communities including Sointula (as well as Kaleva Road and Mitchell Bay), Hyde Creek, Holberg, Quatsino, Hecate Cove, Coal Harbour, Quatsino First Nations, Zeballos, Ehattesaht First Nations and surrounding areas.

Subscribers are helping to build this network by using our services. The rates charged reflect the goal of RECN to be operationally self-supporting and fair to all users. We charge for excess bandwidth usage to allow us to provision more capacity for all users.


Board elections are being held for positions on the Ragged Edge Community Network Society board. If you are a recn.ca subscriber in good standing and have an interest in serving on the board please review the three documents linked to below:

RECN Board Policy   RECN Bylaws   Notice of Interest


Board of Directors:

Sharon Barratt

Sharon represents Port McNeill on the Board of Directors and is currently sitting as Board chairperson.



William (Bill) Foote

Bill represents Port McNeill on the Board of Directors and is currently sitting as Board Vice Chairperson


Jeanne Alley

Jeanne represents Coal Harbour on the Board of Directors


Gwen Hansen

Gwen represents Quatsino on the Board of Directors



Murray Ritchie

Murray represents Zeballos on the Board of Directors